Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get notified as soon as new articles are published.

I need help with my milk supply

0
Primrose2017 2 Rep.
member

My baby has been losing weight so the doctor suggested that I supplement. I have been doing this 3 times a day giving 50ml of formula (advised by the doctor)

ive just tried to feed my baby and there was nothing there. We tried for 45 minutes and nothing came through for her.

please help me x

Philippa Pearson-Glaze answered ago
    0
    Philippa Pearson-Glaze 233 Rep.
    admin
    ibclc
    ago

    The best way to get a tailored plan for increasing your milk supply is to find an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC) in your area as they will take a full history to rule out any medical reasons for low supply and put a care plan together for you and your baby. See Why Hire an IBCLC? http://breastfeeding.support/why-hire-an-ibclc/ for directories to find a local consultant.

    A general feeding plan for a low gaining baby, to discuss with your baby’s paediatrician and your IBCLC lactation consultant, can be found in Supplementing an Underweight Baby http://breastfeeding.support/supplementing-an-underweight-baby/.

    There is also more information in the following links:

    How to Make More Breast Milk  http://breastfeeding.support/how-to-make-more-breast-milk/

    How to Increase Milk Supply When Pumping http://breastfeeding.support/increase-milk-supply-when-pumping/

    Baby Not Gaining Weight  http://breastfeeding.support/baby-not-gaining-weight/

    Reasons for Low Milk Supply http://breastfeeding.support/reasons-low-milk-supply/

    Understanding You Baby’s Weight Chart http://breastfeeding.support/understanding-babys-weight-chart/

      Follow activity